The Glamorous Life of Backpacking 

Posted on

I think people like to romanticize the idea of backpacking. And to a degree, it’s very romantic. It’s a journey. But that journey is by no means glamorous. And some moments just plain suck. But I still think it’s worth it.
So what’s backpacking really all about? 

It’s about vomiting off of a moving bus in the middle of the night. 

It’s about choosing what to wear by deciding what smells the least disgusting. 

It’s about sometimes feeling lonely even though you’re in a country with a population of 1 billion.   

 
It’s about getting lost. 

It’s about getting lost on the way back to your guest house even though you didn’t veer off course and literally stayed on the same road the whole time… At least you thought you did. 

It’s about getting lost AGAIN. 

It’s about never being 100% certain that you’re actually going to make it to where you intend on going.  

It’s about somehow always making it to where you intend to go though. 

It’s about shitting 3 times a day in a squatter toilet because your stomach hasn’t adjusted to the food. 

It’s about your squat form improving because of said squatter toilets. 

It’s about crying on public transportation. 

It’s about a lot of sweating. 

It’s about wanting to push over every motor bike that honks at you to get out of the way. (No! You get out of MY way!) 

It’s about getting one too many “foreigner taxes.” 

It’s about bargaining the hell out of a rickshaw driver just to make it 3 kilometers. 

It’s about your yoga instructor insisting you do a head stand even though you don’t think you can (you can! well, sort of…) 

It’s about REAL hot yoga.

It’s about meeting some awesome people who really lift you up when you most need it. 

   

It’s about changing your plans to travel with awesome people. 

It’s about fitting 3 people on a motor bike only to have it break down. 

 
It’s about knowing when to go your own way. 

It’s about realizing that everything you really need in life can fit on your back. 

It’s about reaching your breaking point and realizing you still have a lot left in you. 

It’s about realizing you are fully capable even when you don’t think you are. 

It’s challenging and incredibly empowering, and I still have a long way to go. 

Peace & Love, 

Kathleen 

12 thoughts on “The Glamorous Life of Backpacking 

    GillianGacuma said:
    August 10, 2015 at 9:36 am

    This is so inspiring! I might experience this myself soon

      Kathleen Prengaman responded:
      August 10, 2015 at 9:45 am

      I’m glad you liked it! 🙂
      Where do you think you would like to go?

        GillianGacuma said:
        August 10, 2015 at 9:49 am

        I’m eyeing a trip this year to Vietnam and Cambodia (backpacking style). I need to be honest that its scares me a bit but I think its all part of the thrill. I’ve been in around my country alone for quite a bit but the setting will be very much different in abroad.

        Kathleen Prengaman responded:
        August 10, 2015 at 10:07 am

        Vietnam and Cambodia are on my list!
        And yes, it is a bit terrifying, but I think the most rewarding things in life are. It really shows you what you’re made of and shows you that you’re fully capable to do some amazing things. There’s nothing else like it!

    Editor said:
    August 10, 2015 at 10:43 am

    Sounds like you’re having a lot of realisations on your little adventure. And enjoying a few indigenous curries too. 😀

      Kathleen Prengaman responded:
      August 10, 2015 at 10:47 am

      Indeed!

        Editor said:
        August 10, 2015 at 10:55 am

        That’s what enlightenment is all about eh? 🙂

    tascco said:
    August 11, 2015 at 12:53 am

    You are an amazing & adventurous girl…not quite sure I could survive a backpacking adventure of this nature! GIRL POWER!!

    kelseanne said:
    August 15, 2015 at 10:02 am

    You found Veronica!

    Helen said:
    August 21, 2015 at 1:54 am

    Hi Kathleen,
    I am so,so proud of you for living your life your way on your own terms. I don’t know if you know but I was just diagnosed with cancer. It’s a very rare type of cancer. I will have surgery on Monday to remove the tumor and then will find out if it spread and what will happen next. I tell you this because I lived my life and am still living it, but I played it “safe”. You know the kind of life that is. Nothing too out of the ordinary. Rather mundane living. You grow up, get married, have kids, ride the hamster wheel of life, fall off the hamster wheel and die kind of life. I am not complaining. Life’s been good. God’s been good. But I haven’t lived for a very long time. I’ve existed. I ponder the bucket list in my head I think if I had the guts I would sell everything and RV across America. But I have others to think of now and a near future of many unknowns.

    Live live live, breathe in the air! Deeply breathe enjoy the smells, savor the tastes, enjoy the moments. The little moments like sipping coffee in a foreign land! If I have time left I am going to ride that scary roller coaster, and do something adventurous for once in my mundane life!

    And screw the nine to five world!! Do it for yourself! Do it for me!

      Kathleen Prengaman responded:
      August 21, 2015 at 8:37 am

      Thank you so much for your encouragement, Helen!
      It is very easy to play it safe in this world but also very scary, but I do think it’s rewarding.
      I send you love as you are fighting this cancer. And I 100% recommend you do what’s on your bucket list because it’s worth it!

Leave a comment